BornJoanne Rowling
31 July 1965 (age 57)
Yate, Gloucestershire, England
Alma materUniversity of Exeter
Moray House
OccupationAuthor and philanthropist
GenreCrime fiction
young adult fiction
Years active1997–present
Notable worksHarry Porter series
SpouseNeil Murray
(m. 2001)​

Introduction – About J.K.Rowling

J.K. Rowling is a well-known author of British descent. For the Harry Porter series, she is well-known. The male protagonist is a young wizard in training who must battle “Lord Voldemort – The one who cannot be named” since he is the “chosen one” and the most powerful person in the entire universe.

Her first of seven books was released in 1997, and her seventh and final book was released in 2007.She has the power to expand the minds of her devoted and sizable readership. She has skillfully portrayed human relationships through her writing, including friendship, teacher and student, lovers, siblings, etc. She has also touched into other emotions including courage, love, fear, honesty, hope, and heartbreak.

Education and Early Childhood

J.K. Rowling was born in Bristol on July 31, 1965. She shared a home with her mother, father, and younger sister, Di. Her mother worked as a teacher, and her father was an aircraft engineer.

Rowling attended Wyedean Comprehensive for her education. She was surrounded by books as a child and understood very early on that she wanted to be an author. She began writing her first narrative about a rabbit when she was just six years old.

Before the first book in the Harry Porter series was released in 1990, J.K. Rowling lost her mother when she was a teenager. At the age of 11, she released her first novel, which was about cursed diamonds and their owners.

Rowling attended Exeter University for her undergraduate studies, where she read about French, Latin, and other classics. She spent a year in Paris as well as taking this course.

Career as author and Journey of J.K.Rowling

Following the completion of her degree, Rowling relocated to London. She performed a number of little chores, including research. In 1990, as she waited for a train from Manchester to London King Cross, she initially had the idea for Harry Porter.

She married Jorge Arantes in 1992 and relocated to North Portugal with her notes. She divorced and returned to Edinburg. She relocated with Harry Porter and the Philosopher’s Stone’s first three chapters and her daughter.

During her time in Edinburgh, she received her teaching certification and worked as a school teacher. She wrote whenever she had free time and finished the first draught of her book.

Harry Porter’s first book in the series was published in 1997 by Bloomsbury Children’s Books. Scholastic later reissued it in the US in 1998 under the title Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

After being picked up by Warner Brothers and made into a movie, the book’s publicity exploded. Seven novels in the Harry Porter Series, all of which became blockbuster films, were published up until 2007.

Additionally, the author published books using the pen name Robert Galbraith. With the book The Casual Vacancy, she entered the social satire genre while writing for an adult readership under this pseudonym. The other book in the detective series were Silk Worm Career of Evil , Lethal White , Troubled Blood), and The Ink Black Heart  .

The Ickabog and The Christmas Pig are two children’s books she later released during the Covid period.

Also Read Some Other Authors – 

J.K.Rowling ’s Noteworthy Awards and Accolades

  1. Order of the British Empire (OBE)
  2. British Book Awards: Rowling has won several British Book Awards, including the Children’s Book of the Year Award for the first Harry Potter book, “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone,” in 1998.
  3. Hugo Award: Rowling received Best Novel in 2001 for “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire,” the fourth book in the Harry Potter series.
  4. Bram Stoker Award: In 2001, Rowling won the Bram Stoker Award for Best Work for Young Readers for “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban,” the third book in the Harry Potter series.
  5. Children’s Book Award: Rowling received the Children’s Book Award for “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” in 1999.
  6. Nestlé Smarties Book Prize: Rowling won the Nestlé Smarties Book Prize Gold Medal in 1997 for “Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone,” the first book in the Harry Potter series.
  7. Blue Peter Book Awards: Rowling received the Blue Peter Book of the Year Award for “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban” in 1999.
  8. Whitbread Book Awards: Rowling was the recipient of the Whitbread Children’s Book Award in 1999 for “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.”
  9. Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award: In 2010, Rowling received the Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award, a prestigious Danish literary honor, for her significant contributions to children’s literature.

Personal Life and Interests – J.K.Rowling

J.K. Rowling had a daughter named Jessica from her first marriage to Jorge Arantes. She wed her present husband, Dr. Neil Murray, again in 2001. She resides with her two children, Mackenzie (born in 2005) and David (born in 2003).

Famous books of J.K.Rowling

Non Series

  • The Casual Vacancy (2012)
  • The Ickabog (2020)
  • The Christmas pig (2021)

Fantastic Beasts

  1. Fantastic Beasts & Where to Find Them (2016)
  2. Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald (2018)
  3. The Secrets of Dumbledore: The Complete Screenplay (2022)

Hogwarts Library

  1. Quidditch Through the Ages (1999)
  2. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2001)
  3. The Tales of Beedle the Bard (2008)


  1. Very Good Lives: The Fringe Benefits of Failure and the Importance of Imagination (2015)

Pottermore Presents

  1. Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide (2016)
  2. Of Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies (2016)
  3. Of Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists (2016)

Cormoran Strike Series

  1. The Cuckoo’s Calling (2013)
  2. The Silkworm (2014)
  3. Career of Evil (2015)
  4. Lethal White (2018)

Harry Potter Series

Book 1 – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Book 2 – Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Book 3 – Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Book 4 – Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Book 5 – Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Book 6 -Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Book 7 -Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Book 8 – Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Aishwarya Gurg

I am an avid reader, content creator and writer and a mother. I am an MBA by profession with 5 years of corporate experience. I have travelled extensively across the nation and abroad, which has given me a wider perspective about life. I believe in equal opportunities and inclusivity. I have lived by the mantra of less judging and more uplifting each other for a better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *